top of page

The University of Hong Kong
Teaching Excellence Awards

Celebrating excellence and innovation in teaching.

Science Class

What are they?

The Teaching Excellence Awards aim to promote and reward good teaching at the University. With four categories covering leadership, early career achievement, teaching practice, and innovation, the Awards recognise the teaching contributions of colleagues from different experience level and focus. OTA and TIA also include both an individual and group category to encourage collaborations in teaching and learning.


Awardees of this prestigious award also receive monetary prize for teaching development, and will be invited to contribute to share their experience, contribute in the University's teaching and learning initiatives, and participate in our undergraduate curriculum implementation.

HKU Teaching Excellence Awards


Outstanding Teaching Award (OTA)


Teaching Innovation Award (TIA)


University Distinguished Teaching Award (UDTA)


Early Career Teaching Award (ECTA)



bottom of page